Game changing scholarships for 29 Victorian women in sport

A further 29 women from across the state are set for exciting new pathways to senior sports roles thanks to the second round of the Victorian Government’s Change Our Game Scholarships.

Over 70 women have now benefited from this program and have been given access to professional development and training opportunities to build their leadership skills.

Scholarship recipient Chloe Jackson (Sports Central) caught up with the Office for Women in Sport and Recreation at the Advancing Women in Coaching Networking Lunch, to talk about her scholarship and the opportunities the program will deliver,

"The Scholarship will enable me to undertake Vicsport's LEAP program. Targeted at female administrators in the sporting industry, it will provide me with a unique professional development opportunity I would otherwise not have access to. I think it will make a massive difference in that I will be able to meet people and I will really be able to learn the in and outs of the sports industry."

Head of the Office for Women in Sport and Recreation, Dr Bridie O’Donnell welcomed the announcement.

“What makes this program so unique is the flexibility it provides the sector. Women and girls working and volunteering are best placed to inform us on where the gaps are in their professional development.

“The ongoing development opportunities these scholarships will provide the additional 29 women along with their organisations will be invaluable and we look forward to seeing all of them take steps to become visible leaders within the Victorian sport and recreation industry.

“We are working with state sporting organisations to achieve a 40 per cent female board quota by July 2019, and building a leadership pipeline for women is a vital way to ensure they have the skills and experience they need to take on those roles.”

The recipients of the second round of Change Our Game Scholarships and their organisations are as follows:

Aimee White

Cricket Victoria

Amanda Basu

Netball Victoria

Andrea Winzor

Ice Sports Victoria

Carly Ward

Mitchell Leisure Services

Catherine Davies

Equestrian Federation of Australia Victorian Branch

Chloe Jackson

CHSA Sports Central

Danielle Calautti

Boroondara City Council

Elizabeth Adam

Disabled Wintersports Australia

Ellie Ingwersen

Yarra Ranges Shire Council

Emma Chapman

South West Academy of Sport

Erin Collins

Life Saving Victoria

Eva Fabian

Ice Sports Victoria

Felicity Munro

Sport North East

Francesca Teh

Cricket Victoria

Hayley VanDenBoom

Netball Victoria

Hilary Shelton

Australian Council for Health, Physical Education and Recreation

Jessica Kelly

Cricket Victoria

Jo Jericho

Cycling Victoria

Julie Cantrill

Ice Sports Victoria

Karen Pearce

Basketball Victoria

Kayt Spano

Fencing Victoria

Kimberley Castiello

Yarra City Council

Kirsten M Lange

Handball Victoria

Lisa Byrne

Cycling Victoria

Lisa Verstraten

Athletics Victoria

Louisa Caldwell

YMCA Victoria

Michelle Hui

Golf Victoria

Tamara Joy

Confederation of Australian Motor Sport

Tegan Rosin

Baw Baw Shire Council

Change Our Game

Learn more about
Change Our Game