Scholarship success for Victorian leaders

Forty nine scholarships totalling more than $250,000 have been awarded to individuals and organisations across the state through the Change Our Game Scholarship Grants Program to support women in taking the next step up to leadership positions in the sport and recreation sector.

The program is open to recognised state sport and recreation bodies, local government authorities and regional sports assemblies, as well as individual women linked to these organisations.

The successful applications come from a wide range of sporting and active recreation codes, including swimming, badminton, football and table tennis.

Among the recipients is Ella Squires, State Manager of Touch Football Victoria who will use the scholarship to undertake the Oxford Executive Leadership Programme, whilst Cricket Victoria’s Community Digital Change Lead Priscilla Duncan will direct her scholarship towards Melbourne Business School’s Managing and Leading Change Course.

A number of organisations have also been awarded scholarships to run courses for emerging leaders within their community. Brimbank City Council will deliver a Women Leaders In Sport and Recreation Facilities program, and Australian Sailing will run their highly successful She Sails Leadership Program for Victorian women volunteers, committee members and coaches.

Office for Women in Sport and Recreation Director Sarah Styles said, “Congratulations to the recipients of the Change Our Game Scholarships announced today. The Office for Women in Sport and Recreation received so many incredible applications from across the sport and active recreation sector, and it was both a privilege and a challenge to arrive at the 49 individuals and organisations who have received this good news today.”

The scholarship program is structured to ensure leadership opportunities are extended to volunteers in community sport right through to senior executives at state sporting associations.

Since the scholarship program was introduced in 2018, more than $1.4 million has been invested through 263 grants to support Victorian women to access a range of professional development opportunities and training courses.

Previous scholarship recipient  and Golf Australia Digital and Communications Coordinator, Kirsty Wrice said, “The Change Our Game scholarship grant enabled me to undertake an in-depth four month leadership course looking at topics like leading in change, successful teams and emotional intelligence. My renewed sense of confidence and drive has transcended to both my professional and personal life, and further aided my aspirations to become an emerging leader within the sports industry.”

Congratulations are extended to the following scholarship recipients:

Individual RecipientOrganisation
Joanne RitsonACHPER Victoria
Jessie DoullAFL
Sinead PearsonAFL
Rebecca HerftAFL Victoria
Eliza StrafordAFL Victoria
Marinella SalafiaAssociated Public Schools of Victoria (APS Sport)
Olivia NewmanAustralian Sailing
Ruby BourkeBicycle Network
Sarah CunninghamBicycle Network
Rachel WeatherlyBoisdale-Briagolong Football Netball Club
Kylie WhiteheadBowls
Francesca HockingBowls Victoria Inc
Imogen ColesCricket Australia
Laura PiekarskiCricket Australia
Priscilla DuncanCricket Victoria
Emily O'BrienCricket Victoria
Kristen PennyCricket Victoria
Emily McLennanGolf Australia
Gen SimmonsGymnastics Victoria
Stacey MorlangLacrosse Victoria
Jessica SymondsLacrosse Victoria
Michelle LingLife Saving Victoria
Megan DrysdaleMiddle Park Football Club
Nicole LamMiddle Park Football Club
Nicole NichollsModern Pentathlon Victoria
Stella CugleyPeninsula Kingswood Country Golf Club
Marta HintsaReclink Australia
Kirsty FergieRichmond Rowing Club
Geraldine GossRichmond Rowing Club
Shay CosgraveSouth Belgrave Junior Football Club (volunteer) and Flinders Christian Community College
Ashleigh GlennonSouth West Sport
Helen McArthurSouth West Sport
Deborah BruceTable Tennis Victoria
Meredith KellyTable Tennis Victoria
Jade EllamsTennis Victoria
Ella SquiresTouch Football Victoria
Melanie ArmsbyTriathlon Victoria
Simar DhaliwalUltimate Victoria Inc
Stephanie EshakVictorian Tennis Association
Tiffany IannazzoWest Coburg Redbacks Softball Club
Shenae KeleherWestVic Academy of Sport
Katina SoulisWyndham City Council
Organisational Recipient
Australian Sailing
Badminton Victoria Inc.
Basketball Victoria
Brimbank City Council
Parks and Leisure Australia (Vic/Tas Region)
Squash & Racquetball Victoria
Swimming Victoria

Thursday 9 December, 2021

Change Our Game

Learn more about
Change Our Game