Women in Sports Broadcasting Successful Applicants Announced

Thirty women will be putting their sports broadcasting expertise into practice next month, after being selected to take part in the 2022-23 Change Our Game Women in Sports Broadcasting Program.

The program provides participants with professional development and training to put their passion and skills into practice, giving women the knowledge and edge they need to advance in sports media.

This year’s participants include budding broadcasters Hanh Tran and Georgia Rajic. Hanh recently commentated the NPLW and the Women’s Series Futsal Victoria League and Georgia is currently an A-League Women commentator with experience in sports broadcasting on Kayo Sports, Paramount Plus and 10 Play.

Rajic said “I am so excited and grateful to be recommended for the program this year. I’ve greatly admired the work and people involved since its inception and am hugely looking forward to expanding my skillset and meeting likewise people who are all passionate about sport.”

The program offers two streams – one with an introductory focus to support the development of early-career sports broadcasters, and one as an extension program for participants who are already establishing their presence in the media and want to take their career to the next level.

Led by industry experts Emma Race and Lucy Race, the program enhances and refines broadcasting skills from play-by-play calling, delivering courtside and ground updates to presenting opinion pieces and job seeking. Participants will also receive individual career planning sessions – helping them kick their professional goals.

Director of the Office for Women in Sport and Recreation, Sarah Styles, said “research has shown us that people want to hear and see more women when they tune into sport, and we’re excited to offer a program that directly helps make that a reality.”

The recent Change Our Game State of Play Survey commissioned by the Office for Women in Sport and Recreation found that 91% of people surveyed who watch sport want to see more women commentators.

A full list of successful recipients can be found here:

Stream 1 – Introductory

Abby Walter
Amellia Wood
Chloe Williams
Courtney Gabb
Demetra Giannakopoulos
Gemma Sounness
Jess Jones
Katherine Gourley
Kim John
Mrinal Asija
Rebecca Cole
Romy Keppel
Sarah Guiney
Saraid Taylor
Taylah Melki

Stream 2 – Extension

Angela Banbury
Beth Davis
Danielle Croci
Fiona Newton
Georgia Rajic
Kelly Rowe
Megan Brewer
Melanie Kawa
Emma Gallagher
Nana Owusu-Afriyie
Sarah Burt
Rani Kane
Tara Murray
Jacqueline Shields
Phoebe McWilliams

Monday 8 May, 2023

Change Our Game

Learn more about
Change Our Game